A journey to acceptance -having Irlen syndrome.

When I found out that I had Irlen syndrome back in 2012, It was a rollercoaster of a journey which made worse by not knowing what Irlen syndrome was or having support, but only for me whole family and being told that I was a freak or stupid and that I had to wear blue tinted sunglasses, I went through a grieve progress of denial, anger, bargaining depression why me but we were told that Irlen filter would £500 but in 2013 It was worst year of my life my symptoms got worse.

 

Until I joined an online support and found some true heroes they funded my Irlen lenses then I finally accept having Irlen syndrome and learned that I didn’t need to be wearing blue tinted sunglasses and that didn’t cost £500 after  all, I was totally shocked by the fact that no one had hear of Irlen syndrome so I decided to be brave started share my experiences with the condition.

It took a while to bring Irlen syndrome to the attention of AMs and MPs but finally I did it last year by going down Welsh Assembly where I come face to face with the person who first diagnosed me with Irlen syndrome I feel really scared about meeting her again but thanks to the work I have done on my past that I could enjoyed our day down the welsh Assembly.

 

Then this year I got Irlen syndrome up to Parliament for another event to raise the profile of the condition and educating MPs this time . I have learned to accept every part about my condition and manged it so yes I can be hard to accept a condition .

Remember everyone is different in own way so I have come overcame barrior to being brave and help other people with the condition now so I enjoy writing my blog now.

So Yes what I went through when I found out I had Irlen syndrome but now I am sharing my experience with people.

 

 

 

 

One thought on “A journey to acceptance -having Irlen syndrome.

  1. This is brilliant news Jennifer! You have had one heck of a tough journey, getting to where you are today. I was proud to have been part of your support party at Westminster and encourage you to carry on, promoting the knowledge and government support of Irlen syndrome.
    Well done Jennifer

    Like

Leave a Reply

