This is why I am raise awareness of Irlen syndrome . My Irlen Journey!

I couldn’t read or write properly without the words move back and forth on the page. Which make my eyes becoming ichy This meant I had a really difficult time at school and didn’t learn to read or write . Teachers thought I was lazy or not trying but I was trying so hard but nothing seemed to work I was first diagnosed Irlen syndrome 2012, I was 23 I was scared and confused because I was told that I had to wear blue tinted sunglasses but in 2013 things took a turn for the worse when my symptoms were getting worse and around Christmas time that I had some horrible experiences for example I saw colours objects and I was bumping into things because I wasn’t told that my colour change which was a really worrying time for me and my parents.

Until I joined a support group for people with Irlen Syndrome and spoke to Jean   Felton she said” perhaps it would be good for me to get funding for my lenses. All I wanted was the lenses and some relief from all the discomfort.

So Jean tried every avenue to get funding for my lenses. Until she finally found a wonderful group called Merthyr Mendicants. We had to wait their decision. I was so surprise when they decided to fund my lenses. So I found out   that was really severely affected by Irlen.

Now I have to wear special purple Irlen lenses and they have transformed by my life. I feel like I have a whole new world opening up in front of me.

 

2 thoughts on “This is why I am raise awareness of Irlen syndrome . My Irlen Journey!

Leave a Reply

